Wednesday, February 21, 2018

“The Poetry Of Music And Design – An Homage To Zaha Hadid”, a special performance by the Miami Symphony Orchestra on February 25, 2018 at 6 pm.

An Homage to Zaha Hadid
Nūr, A Site-specific Installation By Artist Sandra Muss Created For
Miami Symphony Orchestra Performance on February 25, 2018
-Craig Robins to moderate Pre-Concert Conversation with
HRH Princess Firyal of Jordan and Iran Issa Khan-
Sandra Muss, Nūr, 2018. Stainless steel, acrylic and LED Lights.
MIAMI, FL— Artist Sandra Muss has created, Nūr, a new site-specific installation for “The Poetry Of Music And Design – An Homage To Zaha Hadid”, a special performance by the Miami Symphony Orchestra on February 25, 2018 at 6 pm. The concert will take place in the Miami Design District’s historic Moore Building beneathHadid’s Elastika, a sculpture designed for the atrium in 2004, and will feature the world premiere of “@Zaha's Place”, inspired by Elastika and composed by Maestro Eduardo Marturet. This event is presented in association with the Zaha Hadid Foundation.
For the performance, Muss has created a work that is a vital part of a conversation between music, art and audience. Named for the Arabic word for light, Nūr is a collection of three asymmetrical columns, that are eight, nine, and ten feet tall, fashioned out of mirrored steel, with undulating cutouts lit by interior lights. Inspired by the natural world, these slivers of light appear organic, emerging from within the cool, sharp geometry of the columns. These apertures are inviting, and somewhat ethereal. Muss explains that, when creating this installation, she was inspired by Hadid’s brilliant mind, and the ingenuity and the dynamism that defined her work.
Nūr is a wholly immersive experience of art and music together. The work will be located behind the orchestra on the ground floor viewers can pass through as they enter the space, and also have the opportunity to walk around during the concert. The reflective surfaces of the columns allow the audience to catch fragmented glimpses of themselves and the orchestra, making them part of the space and also of the performance.
In addition to “@Zaha’s Place,” the concert program will include: Bach – Toccata & Fugue in D minor, LeFrak – Nothing Left, Marcello – Concerto for Oboe in D minor, Rachmaninov – Vocalise, Cage - 4'33", and Holst – Mars & Jupiter.
Maestro Eduardo Marturet comments that “I am excited and proud to have an artist of the stature and sensitivity of Sandra Muss creating a special work for the occasion”.
About Sandra Muss
Sandra Muss is an American artist whose multi-media works explore the complex relationship between spatial, temporal and mystical realms of human experience. Her work has been exhibited at VOLTA (New York), a solo exhibition at Coral Springs Museum (Florida), Hollis Taggart Gallery (New York), Kelly Roy Gallery (Miami), New Gallery of Modern Art (Charlotte, North Carolina), and DTR Modern Galleries (Florida, Washington D.C., and Boston). In 2017, Muss created a permanent site-specific installation Portals for the Sculpture Garden at the Kreeger Museum in Washington, D.C., and has upcoming exhibitions in Florence, Tokyo and Monte Carlo. The artist lives and works between New York City, Miami Beach, and the Berkshires.
About The Miami Symphony Orchestra
The Miami Symphony Orchestra (MISO), led by Music Director & Conductor Eduardo Marturet, is a valuable contributor to Miami’s cultural fabric. Now in its 28th season, MISO has a mission to present symphonic music of consistently high performance standards in a variety of settings and formats to engage a culturally diverse audience. With 80 professional musicians, selected from around the world, MISO represents the exceptional talent and diversity of South Florida’s multi-cultural richness. Now in his 11th season with MISO, Maestro Marturet is an internationally acclaimed Venezuelan composer and conductor who works across three continents, remaining deeply involved in the musical life of his native country, and also traveling to Europe as a guest conductor.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.